The Mosque of Wazir Khan or commonly known as Masjid Wazir Khan, is yet another Landmark that majestically stands some 300 meters from Delhi Gate in the walled city of Lahore. The construction of this elegant mosque commenced in 1634 AD and it took seven years to complete it in 1641. This was the time when Emperor Shah Jehan was the emperor and the mosque takes its name from the governor of Lahore, Ilam-ud-Dinansari, who was also known as Nawab Wazir Khan. The mosque complex also includes a 22-shop bazaar, which is a unique phenomenon for any mosque in the world.
The mosque covers an area of 279.5 x 159 feet, out of which the prayer hall occupies 131.3 x 42 feet of an area. The prayer hall is divided into five compartments supported by four arches. Atop the roof, there are five turnip shaped domes. The floor is especially ornate, with 13 different geometrical patterns in dressed brick paving. The Masjid is made of bricks and faced with gaily-coloured glazed mosaic tiles. In fact the mosque is famous for its colourful fresco and tile decorations, both in its interior and exterior. The use of inlaid pottery decoration in the wall panelling is remarkable. The grills of the mosque are in terra cotta. Since Nawab Wazir Khan belonged to Chiniot, a small city in Punjab, famous for its handmade wood work and tiles, the same craftsmanship is easily visible from Masjid's unique architecture. On the corners of the Masjid are 107 feet high octagonal minarets with 69 steps, decorated with mosaic tiles. There is a grave in the courtyard that of Syed Muhammad Ishaq, a saint who died in the 14th century. The plinth level was a storey higher than the ground. The facade of the main entrance of this imposing structure from the eastern side is laid with glazed tiles, which have numerous inscriptions of the Kalima going up to the ceiling in Kashikari. Detail description by PakistanPaedia.